Guide Resources

A comprehensive list of the references cited throughout the entire guide

Bertot, J. C., Butler, B. S., & Travis, D. M. (2014). Local big data: the role of libraries in building community data infrastructures (pp. 17–23). Presented at the Proceedings of the 15th Annual International Conference on Digital Government Research, ACM. https://doi.org/10.1145/2612733.2612762

Cassano, Jay. "5 Steps to Cultivating a Civic Startup Ecosystem, According to Civic Entrepreneurs." Fast Company. June 6, 2015. https://www.fastcompany.com/3047313/5-steps-to-cultivating-a-civic-startup-ecosystem-according-to-civic-entrepreneurs

Center for Community Health and Development at the University of Kansas. "Creating and Maintaining Partnerships." part of Community Tool Box. https://ctb.ku.edu/en/creating-and-maintaining-partnerships

DataSF Resource Library. https://datasf.org/resources/

Detroit Digital Justice Coalition. (2015). Opening Data. (D. J. Nucera, Ed.). https://www.alliedmedia.org/files/ddjc_zine-final-rgb.pdf

Donker, Frederika Well and Bastiaan van Loenen. "How to Assess the Success of the Open Data Ecosystem?" International Journal of Digital Earth 10, no. 3 (2017): 284-306. https://doi.org/10.1080/17538947.2016.1224938

Headd, Mark. (n.d.). How to Talk to Civic Hackers. https://www.civichacking.guide/

Hendey, Leah, Jake Cowan, G. Thomas Kingsley, and Kathryn L.S. Pettit. "NNIP's Guide to Starting a Local Data Intermediary." May 2016. https://www.urban.org/sites/default/files/publication/80901/2000798-NNIP's-Guide-to-Starting-a-Local-Data-Intermediary.pdf

Jaffrey, Zaffreen, Samuel McKinnon, and Christine Selby. "Creative Approaches to Using Early Development Instrument As a Community Mobilization Tool in Miami-Dade County." November 16, 2017. https://www.neighborhoodindicators.org/library/catalog/creative-approaches-using-early-development-instrument-community

Living Cities. "Field Scan of Civic Technology." November 26, 2012. https://www.livingcities.org/resources/131-field-scan-of-civic-technology

Malinsky, Eli and Chad Lubelsky. "Network Evaluation: Cultivating Healthy Networks for Social Change." Toronto: Centre for Social Innovation. http://socialinnovation.ca/sites/socialinnovation.ca/files/NetworkEvaluation_Pocket_english.pdf

Mattern, Shannon. "Public In/Formation." Places (November 2016). https://placesjournal.org/article/public-information/

The Open Data Barometer. https://opendatabarometer.org

Open Data Institute (UK). "Mapping Data Ecosystems." March 23, 2018. https://theodi.org/article/mapping-data-ecosystems/

Open Knowledge International. The Open Data Handbook. http://opendatahandbook.org/

Pew Research Center. “Americans’ Views on Open Government Data.” April 2015. http://www.pewinternet.org/2015/04/21/open-government-data/

Reynoso, Elizabeth, Kathryn L.S. Pettit, and Christopher Whitaker. "Collaborating for 21st Century Solutions." The Urban Institute. June 19, 2018. https://www.urban.org/research/publication/collaborating-21st-century-solutions

Robinson, P., & Mather, L. W. (2017). Open Data Community Maturity: Libraries as Civic Infomediaries. Journal of the Urban and Regional Information Systems Association, 28. http://www.urisa.org/clientuploads/directory/Documents/Journal/Vol28_final.pdf

Sunlight Foundation. "A Guide to Tactical Data Engagement." September 2017. https://sunlight-foundation.gitbooks.io/tactical-data-engagement/content/

Sunlight Foundation. Open Data Policy Hub. https://opendatapolicyhub.sunlightfoundation.com/

Taylor, Madeleine, Peter Plastrik, Julia Coffman and Anne Whatley. "Evaluating Networks for Social Change: A Casebook." Network Impact and Center for Evaluation Innovation. July 2014. http://www.networkimpact.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/NetworkEvalGuidePt2_Casebook_Rev.pdf

Temple University Libraries. (2017). Future Proofing Civic Data: Exploring the Challenges of Preserving Open Civic Data for the Long Term T. https://docs.google.com/document/d/1vymMtPf0PP17qehPeKXSCu-37mJOlvnEf9IKypXWWRA

W3C. (2017). Data on the Web Best Practices. (B. Farias Lóscio, C. Burle, & N. Calegari, Eds.). https://www.w3.org/TR/dwbp/

Wright, S., Marsh, Z., Bahlai, C., & Robinson, D. (2017). Mozilla Science Lab’s Open Data Primers. https://mozillascience.github.io/open-data-primers/index.html​​